IGNORED

Does speed kill????

motorman587

I am an AARP driver safety program instructor. We had an update today and received a Florida Supplement work book. On page K under the heading "Effect of speed on impact", I thougth about this fourm and some of the topics about speed. It continued with, Speed influences the risk of crashes and crash injuries in three basic ways.

1. It increases the distance a vehicle travels from the time a driver detects an emergency to the time the driver reacts.

2. It increases the distance needed to stop a vehicle once an emergency is preceived.

3. It increases the crash energy by the square of the speed. When impact speed increases from 40 to 60 mph (a 50 percent increase), the energy that needs to be managed increases by 125 percent.

So does speed kill or not??

1. It increases the distance a vehicle travels from the time a driver detects an emergency to the time the driver reacts.

2. It increases the distance needed to stop a vehicle once an emergency is preceived.

3. It increases the crash energy by the square of the speed. When impact speed increases from 40 to 60 mph (a 50 percent increase), the energy that needs to be managed increases by 125 percent.

If you truly believe that speed kills, how can you move at all, since any movement will increase the energy that needs to be managed by an infinite amount? (and that doesn't even take into account the sky falling on you when you are not moving!)

And given all that information, isn't it best that we go back to a 55mph speed limit? Much less kinetic energy floating around that way...

Seems to me, that if speed kills, then speed must be outlawed completely! 55MPH is way too high! Even walking speed is too high!

The only solution is to outlaw all motion.

Dave McReynolds