IGNORED

HOV problem in AZ

DryHeat

I've been commuting to work on my motorcycle for about 3 yrs now and today I experienced a first. As usual, I was using the HOV lane, along with dozens of other riders I see during my commute, when I was pulled over by a Gilbert police officer. He informed me that motorcycles aren't allowed to use HOV and issued me a ticket for $419! I cooperated with the officer and tried to point out that I have seen HOV signs along interstate 10 that list motorcycles as allowed (admittedly, I haven't paid attention to whether those signs are still in place). I asked if the law had changed, etc., basically, he wasn't interested in hearing my story, gave me the ticket and that was that.

This will be a major blow to the motorcycle community if it holds true. Anyway, I will be making some trips this weekend in an attempt to gather some photos of the signs that listed motorcycles (I hope they're still there).

Effervescent

Off AZDOT: not looking good.

Sorry,

-Eff

HOV Fact Sheet

Federal Laws

Public Law 109-59, passed on August 10, 2005 requires that state agencies who have

jurisdiction over HOV facilities establish occupancy requirements for the HOV lanes.

This law allows the following vehicles to travel in the HOV lane:

Vehicles carrying two or more passengers;

Motorcycles and bicycles (unless it is determined that the allowance of

these vehicles would present a safety hazard);

Public transportation vehicles (in accordance with state law and

regulations);

Inherently low emission vehicles as defined under 40 CFR 88.311-93

regardless of the number of passengers;

Other low emission and energy efficient vehicles (hybrids) regardless of

the number of passengers subject to the following:

“Not later than 180 days after the date of enactment of this section, the

Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency shall--`(1) issue

a final rule establishing requirements for certification of vehicles as low