IGNORED

How did you mount your GPS receiver?

Joe Frickin' Friday

Joe Frickin' Friday

New 2023 R1250RT.  Not thrilled with the built-in GPS system, planning to mount a stand-alone GPS receiver, very likely a Garmin Zumo XT.  I have an idea about how and where to mount it, but before I move in that direction, I'm curious to hear how anyone here with the same style of one-piece cast handlebars has mounted their GPS.

Way back in '03, I made a custom mount bracket that attached to the barback on my 1100RT, and in '09 I transferred it to my 1200RT.  Here's a view of the left handlebar, barback, and the custom mount bracket with GPS cradle (receiver not installed in cradle):

image.thumb.png.0d3d0c1e2fb41e1c6a6097f4051eca02.png

Here's the rider's view, showing the receiver nicely positioned between the mirror and the instrument cluster:

image.thumb.png.e8f9ed726b1da80b9947db63257e96cf.png

(That pic is from 2011; I've been using a Zumo 595 since 2018.)

None of that bracketry will fit nicely on the new 1250, so I'm starting from scratch.  I'm envisioning a bespoke mount that will put the new GPS in roughly the same spot between instrument cluster and mirror, making use of these two items:

https://www.wunderlichamerica.com/R1200_RS_R1200_RT_R1250_RT_Hand_Protectors_Mounts

image.png.6d8fd39c2750f649fed67bbde6cf1ba1.png

https://www.wunderlichamerica.com/BMW_Motorcycle_R1200_RT_R1250_RT_Handlebar_Risers

image.png.192d845a8ee767a3f8485deca40f39c9.png

A strip of 90-degree bent steel mounted to the hand protector mount and to an elongated handlebar attachment bolt in the bar riser should provide a solid platform for attaching the GPS receiver.  

But before my tunnel vision takes me down this Rube Goldberg path, I'm wondering what you other folks have done.  Custom and store-bought solutions  are welcome, as are different mounting locations.  Thanks in advance for sharing.

image.thumb.png.d3ea11f694dca1717f1b333d46b16941.png