IGNORED

BMW Noob - Hoping for a little advice on a possible new-to-me RT

Stresspuppy

New to the board, new to BMW, not new to riding. I've been riding cruiser style bikes off and on for 20 years. Currently have a Honda VTX 1300C.

A few questions I'm hoping this group can help me with:

1. Has anyone made the change from cruiser to sport touring (RT specifically of course), and what was your experience in adjusting? Quite a different seating/riding position. (One of my challenges is that there isn't one anywhere near me - Richmond VA - that I can ride so I'm having to go a bit by people's input unfortunately.)
  2. Found a Premium 2018 with 55k miles. Should I be worried about the miles? It is being sold by a dealer (not a BMW dealer) but sold "as-is" because of the miles. I am a distance from the bike so having to go by pictures and their word. Seem to be reputable but that can be said about many, until they aren't of course. No service history that they have shared.
  3. If maintained, what kind of mileage can be expected out of an '18 RT? 
  4. What are the big service items I'll need to consider given the age?
  5. What things should I expect to have to look into or deal with right away? Tires and brakes seem ok and I'll do an oil change as soon as I get it. What else should I consider, maybe specific to the RT?
  6. Probably not a valid question here, but any reasons NOT to buy and RT?

Note: I do most all of the work on my current vehicles and motorcycle so turning a wrench doesn't scare me (always prefer not to have to of course, but can handle should issues arise).

I've been combing through as much as I can but always looking for more/different inputs. Anything that can be provided is VERY much appreciated!

Welcome to the forum.