IGNORED

Warm up

Warren Dean

It's been kind of quiet in here so I thought I would ask a question of Dirt Rider...

I ride my R1100RT every day for a work ride. I let warm up to 2 or 3 bars before I take off on it. It makes 5 bars by the time I get to work. Is that sufficient warmup or should I give it some more temperature before  I head out? Ambient temps are rarely below freezing here in southeast Arizona in the mornings. Inquiring minds wan t to know.  :)

Edited by Warren Dean
misspelling

That’s too much “warm up” time!   I have seen 2 instances of oilhead RT’s warping the plastic and becoming very close to bursting into flames because the rider let them run (on the high idle cam) for several minutes.    The bike is oil cooled but there is no cooling without movement of the motorcycle.    

ive been riding Oilheads since 1999, I let them warm up for a maximum of one minute before taking off.   Usually only one bar showing. 

the manual will tell you that “warm up” is not required.  

BTW I’m assuming you meant R1100RT, not R100RT.    

Warming up is not recommended.  On a cold day, start it, put on your helmet and gloves, and go.  Just don't wind it up too tight until it gets a few bars.  I sold my 96 to a 20 something kid.  Specifically told him NOT to warm it up.  I called him 5 months after sale with some parts I wanted to give him.  He told me the fried the bike warming it up in his garage, so hold off on the parts.  Been about a year.  No news.  The bike is probably toast.

• Like 2
8 hours ago, Warren Dean said:

It's been kind of quiet in here so I thought I would ask a question of Dirt Rider...

I ride my R100RT every day for a work ride. I let warm up to 2 or 3 bars before I take off on it. It makes 5 bars by the time I get to work. Is that sufficient warmup or should I give it some more temperature before  I head out? Ambient temps are rarely below freezing here in southeast Arizona in the mornings. Inquiring minds wan t to know.  :)