IGNORED

Replacing a throttle cable on an r1200clc

Zhann

Hello. In my quest to alter my bike, I feel that the Cruise Control is something I almost never use and the factory system is way more than I need. The problem is that the throttle cable goes from my throttle to a box behind my headlights, and from the box to the engine (please excuse terms, I am not a mechanic and am learning as I go ... although, I am an engineer by trade). I want to eliminate this box entirely and go straight from my throttle to the engine. So, two questions.

First, where can I find the right cable? I would imagine that a cable from an r1200c would work, but I'm not 100% sure on that.

Second is a bit more complicated, how would I go about actually replacing this wire? I understand the mechanics of it, where the ends go and such. The problem is how to thread the wire from the throttle to the engine. Thing is, that wire goes behind ABS 'pipes' that I am hesitant to touch. Then, it is inserted into this plastic box through a rubber sleeve. Getting it from the sleeve to the part that I need to connect it to is hard as well, but I am most concerned about getting it through the rubber sleeve into the big plastic box. There is virtually no room around the sleeve to work with, and while I can remove enough around that area to get needle nose pliers in there, I'm not really comfortable doing this given I can't find any instructions on how to do it for my specific bike. In other words, is there some instruction out there somewhere on how this is done? ... or, is there something similar I can watch to learn from?

Any insight would be most appreciated.

Thanks

Zhann

3 hours ago, Zhann said: