IGNORED

Old rider, new to me 1200RT

sbeec

Hello - long time rider with a new to me 2018 1200RT with 5k on the odo.  I'm putting away my 2003 ST1300 finally.  Really looking forward to the RT for the next 15years of retirement riding.  couldn't find a new member section so just posted here with my bike type.

During my purchase research I've seen posts about problems with ECU and going into limp mode.

Is there already a saved post with known problems with the wet head engines or platforms.  

What should I look out for or expect?  

What is preventive repairs to do be proactive with weak areas of the bike?

ect, ect

Any thing you can help me know up fromt is appreciated!!

Rich

E4F242B2-AA82-4ECC-ABB8-D2C98D3758A3.jpeg

• Like 2

No worries.    Welcome to the board.   Nice looking bike, I must say.   You have the fastest  color. 

I am new to the RT as of a year or so ago,  but as far as knowledge, the forum has plenty of that to help you along.  You can scroll through the Wethead forums for anything that may involve your RT, which includes tupperware and its numerous fastening hardware.   There are a few tips about meticulous removal and replacement to keep up with which screw goes where.  For some reason, I always find extras upon reassembly - there are always extras.  :dontknow:

Cheers,

51 minutes ago, wbw6cos said:

You can scroll through the Wethead forums for anything that may involve your RT, which includes tupperware and its numerous fastening hardware.   There are a few tips about meticulous removal and replacement to keep up with which screw goes where.  For some reason, I always find extras upon reassembly - there are always extras.  :dontknow:

Cheers,

EXTRAS…EXTRAS…You want EXTRAS!

I do WetHead Tech days on lots of strangers bikes that constantly have missing screws or screws in the wrong places.

I finally found a way to have EXTRAS…