IGNORED

Probably a dumb question

Blake8098

As the title says, probably dumb but still... what is the difference between a 1998 r1100rt and the equivalent bike in gs/adventure? Is it mostly just plastic? Are there other factors I’m overlooking? Yes i am fairly new to the motorcycle arena, Suzuki gsx650f back in 2010 for about 6 months, and absolutely new to bmw. 

also while I’m asking dumb ass questions... 80/20 50/50 yada yada yada tires on a touring bike, dumb as hell and I’m just gonna screw up my touring bike by running slightly more than just pavement? Or can I handle a bit more with the machine I have? I’m not talking crazy rock crawler, just a bit more than a highway here highway back kind of ride. 

thanks for any info, and most importantly the main question is exactly why the difference is between rt and more “dual sport” models of the time. 

apart from the plastic, or lack thereof, the GS and RT have different suspension (they both have the same basic setup, but different shocks and the GS/A has a lot more travel), different bars (RT are cast and not readily adjustable, where the GS/A are more like "regular" bars), different seats/seating positions, and different gearing in the trans and final drive (depending on which GS/A, exactly). 

The GS bikes are much easier to modify as far as luggage, bars, shocks, and such - the RT are pretty much they way they are.

If you can find them in a workable size, you won't hurt the bike with other-than-street tires, but you will likely damage a lot of plastic if you happen to slip on the gravel (or the pavement). The lack of travel and the geometry of the front end and bars make the RT not all that fun on bumpy roads, but it certainly can be ridden on them if you like. 

20 minutes ago, szurszewski said: