IGNORED

R1150GS clutch slave modification

The Fabricator

The Fabricator

I have always had a hard time taking off with my 2000 R1150GS due to the tall first gear and the narrow friction zone of the dry clutch.  And the lever pull effort is excessive.

I also own a 1977 R100/7.  I had rigged up a pulley system for the clutch that reduces the lever effort by 1/2 and doubles the friction zone. [I have seen that modification offered as a kit.]

For my 1150, there were 3 options.

1.  Fabricate a clutch lever that has a relocated pivot point for increased leverage.  I never measured things to determine the effort reduction, but I suspected it would not be enough reduction.

2. Find/install a master cylinder with a smaller piston.  Then I would have to deal with the switches and wiring.  That was not attractive.

3. Find/install a slave cylinder with a larger piston.  I searched the internet and found nothing offered nor a modification.

I am a retired MC mechanic.  I had saved [for a few decades]a Yamaha clutch slave cylinder from the junk pile.

The stock slave cylinder piston is 24mm.  My 'saved' cylinder was 38mm.  That calculates to a 2.5x reduction of effort.

At this time I had the transmission out of the bike, so it was a good time to perform this mod as access to the slave area with the transmission mounted is very limited.

A trolly I fabricated.  This makes transmission removal/installation easy.

7.jpg.d9eb227169a0a8287942a3e96f2d1aaf.jpg

The BMW slave cylinder                                                                    Yamaha slave cylinder.  Note that it does not

fit into the slave cavity in the transmission.     

6.jpg.93da7adf1b39f93f62b6d8213fd891d3.jpg            5.jpg.437d84aa04a43fe4892829592a5a4ad0.jpg             

BMW uses a bearing in the slave piston where the            Yamaha uses a ball which makes a single point