IGNORED

0 to 248 mph a new production motorcycle record

ltljohn

1 minute ago, Pappy35 said:

Why? Just why?

Because it's there

1 minute ago, Pappy35 said:

That thing is going to be a boon to the human organ donation industry...

With an MSRP of $55,000 there will not be many sold to other than race teams.

5 minutes ago, ltljohn said:

Because it's there

With an MSRP of $55,000 there will not be many sold to other than race teams.

Yeah. Good point. Thing is though that videos like this will inspire the idiots with money out there (and there are a lot of them) to run out and buy one to see how fast they can go. I took the basic MSF class a few years ago as a refresher before getting back into riding. There was a guy there who was a total newbie, 40+ years old, who said he was taking delivery of a brand new Hayabusa the following week. Guy could barely ride the glorified mopeds issued for the class and almost failed the test. Organ donor in the making.

All that said, that is one hell a technical achievement. Centrifugal blower, 300+HP (200 for the street variant). Amazing.

I guess the simple answer as to the why is, because they can. ;) Your last statement about technical achievement is pretty much the gist it. Most inquisitive humans will try to improve everything within their reach. Looks like Kawasaki nailed it! :thumbsup:

• Like 1
RandyShields

I can't think of a more stupid place to do a run like that than a suspension bridge with huge wire supports, light poles and wire guard rails that are known to chew up motorcyclists when hit. And what about the hundreds of feet of drop if he is lucky enough to miss all the obstacles and launches over the barriers??  The prior efforts at the Bonneville Salt Flats at least didn't have things to hit.  Other than the ground.

• Like 2
  • Haha 1

So for 55K,  :5146:you can forgo years of education and commitment while still experiencing the same e-ticket ride!  :5210::4323:

10 hours ago, TEWKS said: