IGNORED

Fine tuning the ride height of my 08

Rider1260

I am very new to my bike and am really happy overall , handling, speed, comfort wish I would have been able to do this years ago.
I am now fine tuning the bike for me a brake pedal extender, new GPS and now I am on to ride height or more importantly non moving height.
I have a Rick Meyer saddle that came with the bike, it is very comfortable tho showing its age and it is VERY tall on the low setting ( as it is in the pics ) I'm in tip toe mode if I want both feet down, I can one foot it and have been but I thought I might like a bit more security, found a killer deal on a stock seat unfortunately it seems to be a low seat., and it does make getting both feet down easy even on the highest setting but I feel like I'm riding a chopper, and always looking thru the windshield.
So wondering if just getting the Rick Meyer seat reshaped, I bit less foam on the side near the front and maybe a bit less padding near the tank to make it a bit more narrow so I don't lose the riding position I like but making reaching Terra firma a bit easier. Do you all think I can have my cake and eat it to, or should I just get used to one foot or tip toes.

9C3045F9-CD35-4F19-B812-0A488EBB6C6C.jpg

11D80EA5-5EBC-468E-AC8C-3F93813210CB.jpg

Don't settle for just one foot down.  With the weight of the bike, that is also a recipe for a tip over when you're on an off camber surface, particularly if you are fully loaded.  Definitely get the seat redone or buy another so you can be comfortable and flat foot it.

I don't know about Rick Meyer, but most custom saddle makers will do alterations (for a price, obviously).  You can also make alterations yourself if you've a mind to.  Hacksaw blades work really well for re-shaping the dense foam found in seats.  Either buying or borrowing a pneumatic stapler makes re-fastening the seat cover down less of a chore.