IGNORED

'05 RT struck by lightning

Don Redman

I hope I am posting in the right forum? 

Posted this very thread over on bmwlt.com, got a limited response, but the suggestion to try you folks -for  "The forum knowledge for your particular RT year will be much more focussed."  

As the title says, a bolt came down a tree next to the bike.
Bike starts, runs and drives (without brake assist) with all lights except console.
-no instruments or computer display

-tried battery disconnect, with no change

-bike starts and runs well
-brake servos (assist) do not work, so I am assuming ABS is not working either?
-brakes work, but not well (squeeze harder)
-so instrument lights, cluster, and display do not work.
-Display does work when stereo is turned on, but only displays stereo info.

Just looking for some ideas of where to look, and what to suspect, as I am pulling code (hopefully) sometime this week.

I am totally new to the RT and can bus, so I am a little lost.  Any help, tips or guidance would be appreciated. Video below:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7EMeHRCnf1o

spacewrench

You checked fuses, right?  There was a thread recently about a particular type of fuse that BMW used to use -- I think it looks like a wire sort of crimped across the top of the two prongs that go into the holder.  People had found that some of those fuses lose connectivity, even though it looks like they're still good.

My understanding from what I read was there are no fuses in this model because of the canbus? I could be wrong and I would love to be wrong I would love to think that I could pull a fuse just not sure where that would be as I have not been able to find a single fuse on this bike yet?

1 hour ago, Don Redman said:

I hope I am posting in the right forum? 

Posted this very thread over on bmwlt.com, got a limited response, but the suggestion to try you folks -for  "The forum knowledge for your particular RT year will be much more focussed."