IGNORED

Advice for the UnRally Noob

Oldironken

I am signed-up and eagerly anticipating participating in the UnRally. 

The bike will be in good tune with lots of tire life left. I'll have clothes, some cash,  a toothbrush, and a credit card.

I plan to arrive Sunday following TEWKS and i'll be staying off-site, once i check-in at the hotel i have no idea what to do next.

How does one go about "UnRallying"?  What do i need to know?  

Besides my Nav5 GPS should i have any other electronic devices?  I don't listen to music or make phone calls when riding so i don't have a bluetooth communication device, but i could borrow one from a friend for the week.

I'm a bit of an Introvert and ride solo most of the time. i have no real experience as a follower on a group ride, the last thing i want to do is to break a riding rule i am unaware of.  

I won't divulge the NOOB induction rituals. 

Other than that you will do fine.

You will join the other old pharts: Eat, ride, tell lies. And, since you are a NOOB, no one will have heard your lies before so you will have  a great.

One other thing. Don't get suckered into "Chasing Bernie"!:rofl:

szurszewski

I still feel like a new guy and have stayed off site for an event, so I do have a piece of advice for that. After you get settled in your place, head over to the main lodging spot and find out where the hangout spot is (or just find some old dudes near bikes in the parking lot). Introduce yourself to whoever is around and in no time you’ll be meeting everyone. Or st least a bunch of people. 

Probably you’ll find some folks you get along with, and if they’re going for a ride later/tomorrow/whenever you might like to ride toward somewhere you might like to ride you can join in, or just go ride when and where you like and meet up along the way or just talk about it when you get back to the lodging area. 

In in any case I’m sure you’ll have a great time.