IGNORED

R1100RT Clutch Replacement - Keep transmission and swing arm together?

Dave748

I have 26,000 miles on my 2000 R1100RT and I want to lubricate the splines.  While doing that, I will replace the clutch.  I've purchased a clutch kit as well as the stretch bolts and I have read through many threads here as well Chris Harris' R1100RT clutch replacement video.  I have the clutch alignment tool, transmission alignment pins and I'm fortunate to have a complete shop. On a later video, Chris shows keeping the transmission-swing arm-rear drive together and pivoting this assembly away from the bike off to the side to replace the clutch.  This is appealing to me to avoid disassembling the rear drive from the drive shaft, removing the swing arm and drive shaft.

Has anyone here had experience in keeping the rear end-swing arm-transmission together and removing it as one?  

As this is my first post, my background:

I have 49 years experience working on cars and motorcycles and I'm a mechanical engineer.  My most humorous project on the R1100RT was replacing the entire wiring harness TWICE when I tried to out-smart the ABS low voltage sensing with a new relay.  That's now resolved with everything back to stock.  I have Ohlins on the R1100RT and I've recently had the ABS module rebuilt by ModuleMasters in Moscow, Idaho (great company!).  I also have a 1975 R90S which I've rebuilt including rebuilding the transmission.  I did all the rebuild work on the R90S with the exception of the paint.  The paint on that bike was done by Cliff Weaver, just outside of Gettysburgh, PA.  I can't say enough good things about Cliff and his team.  They are great people and amazing craftsmen.

Dave748

32 minutes ago, Dave748 said: