IGNORED

Quiet flip-up helmet

Francis

Due to skin cancer surgery on my nose I am looking at getting a quiet flip-up helmet with the interior flip up dark lens so I don't bump my nose putting on a traditional full face. 

I have no experience with flip-ups.  I do like a very quiet, well vented and very high quality helmet. Any recommendations would be most welcome.   

Thanks,  Francis

My Shoei Neotec is pretty quiet.  I have a theory that the better the venting the more noise.  All full face helmets I've used had more noise than I cared for and more than I think is healthy long term.  My solution is find a brand of 32 Db earplugs that fit you comfortably and use whatever helmet fits you the best.

I was a little embarrassed to mention (no I wasn't :grin:) how much I like my cheap HJC flip up but now I found redemption in this vid! :yes: Granted the more $ model makes the grade.

Test ride the Schuberth modular. 

They have always been very quiet and they vent well too. 

Some of the previous models are available at a price reduction but the size and color choices are limited. 

My wife is on her second Schuberth.  The first was a C3 and the newest is a C4 with the built-in speakers and microphone.  She loves the helmets but the Sena for the C4 sucks.  I finally got it to work, the battery is loose in the compartment and would cause the unit to shut off.  Sena and Schuberth were no real help, I finally shimmed it with some plastic and it seems to work.  There are some really good prices on the C4 right now.    

I had a Schuberth C3 for awhile but really didnt like the feature where the faceshield closes at 35MPH.  I like to crack my shield and just wasent able to make that work on the Schuberth.  Just bought a Neotech II, Ive had Shoei helmets forever but this will be my first modular outside of the C3.  Havent put it on yet but the reviews seem positive.