IGNORED

New '11 R1200RT funny handling - Tires?

g_e_young

Hi All -

Long time Advrider here, and longtime -mostly- GS rider, but I just picked up an '11 R1200RT.  I've been looking for one of these for a long time, and finally the perfect bike showed up on CL. The motorcycle is in great condition, 20k miles, and has had every service from the local BMW dealer. Everything about the motorcycle is great, but the low speed handling (~10 - 40mph) is a bit odd. Granted I've been riding various GS's for the last 10+ years which have made me a sloppy rider, but when I hit come curves on this RT, while it starts to turn with relative easy, it takes a TON of counter steering to keep it on a constant line though the corner. This characteristic feels unnatural and isn't any fun.

While my first instinct was that these bikes simply must not handle very well, I now think that something is going on with the tires since most reviewers comment on the great handling. Thanks to all the rain, I've had limited time to play with tire pressure, but my sense is that this is greater than just an air pressure issue. Both tires are Metzeler Z8's, and the rear is very new (1500 miles) but but the front tire has 6000 miles, although it appears to be in good condition. The previous rider, as far as I can tell, was a -very- casual rider. 

Do any RT riders or motorcycle handling guru's out there have any advice? Are these tires just not very good? Is the RT VERY sensitive to tire wear? What tire pressures do RT riders recommend? Any thoughts would be helpful.  Thanks!

g-

Captureqqqq.JPG

1 hour ago, g_e_young said:

Hi All -