IGNORED

Newbie with barn finds

tundra

Hello,

I am new to the forum. Hello everyone. I came across two true barn finds. A 1997 f650, 962 miles and a 2004 r1150r with 196 miles on it. I grew up around the corner from the gentleman that owned them. I purchased them from him and his wife and I have started to go through them. The f650nhas some carb issues and will need to be rebuilt, The 2004 has some rust in the tank so I will be cleaning it out. I also ordered a new fuel pump and filter kit and will rebuild them. As well as changing all the fluids. Any advice would be appreciated since I am new to BMW.

Thank you

Tundra

Edited by tundra

The 650 as you found out has two carburetors linked together.

The parts from bmw are pretty expensive and a common failure part are the joiner "T" (s) that feed the carbs fuel.

Leakage occurs .

Bear in mind there is an auto compression release that lifts one valve during starting to ease the load on the starter motor.

So a compression test , if you take one reads low unless you use the bmw technique .

Also , the battery is mounted in a terrible location and unless things have changed, the only AGM battery to fit is made by a MotoBatt.

Avail from Impact Battery or once you determine the correct part number, sometimes cheaper on Amazon.

Otherwise you are forced to use a lead acid battery that requires close monitoring as the heat from the engine boils the water out amazingly fast.

Once you get the 650 figured out, it will provide amazing gas mileage and cruise all day at 80mph if you wish.

The rear master cylinder, water/oil pump and the regulator are the only parts on the bike that ever showed any pattern failure and those occurred when regular maintenance wasn't followed or, ahem, when the bike was stored for long periods.

The reg was known to fail when allowed to be caked with mud (heat) or run with a struggling (dry) lead acid battery.

Welcome.

For the boxer, new in tank lines, new brake lines