IGNORED

Smoking on start up

ncstatecamp

ncstatecamp

So I'm new to the oilhead scene, but I've learned and heard that oilheads have a few.... Quirks... I just wanted to verify what I've heard; it's standard for oilheads to burn oil (1qt?) or so every few thousand miles, and oilheads will smoke on start up just because of the nature of the horizontal engines?

I only ask now bc Ive recently noticed a bit of smoke on start up, but it doesn't continue after it's been ridden for a few minutes. Is that pretty standard?

While I've got you're attention I've also heard that the hall effect sensor needs attention on these bikes around the 70k(?) mark. The previous owner seemed to have taken care of every little thing possible, but it does only have 45k on the clock. Is there an easy way to tell if that's been taken care of already?

Oldrider51

What oilhead do you have? Knowing this forum users will be able to help. I have an 04 R1100S and it does not smoke on start up and does not burn oil. Just completed a 1400 mile trip and no oil was used.

dirtrider
So I'm new to the oilhead scene, but I've learned and heard that oilheads have a few.... Quirks... I just wanted to verify what I've heard; it's standard for oilheads to burn oil (1qt?) or so every few thousand miles, and oilheads will smoke on start up just because of the nature of the horizontal engines?

I only ask now bc Ive recently noticed a bit of smoke on start up, but it doesn't continue after it's been ridden for a few minutes. Is that pretty standard?

While I've got you're attention I've also heard that the hall effect sensor needs attention on these bikes around the 70k(?) mark. The previous owner seemed to have taken care of every little thing possible, but it does only have 45k on the clock. Is there an easy way to tell if that's been taken care of already?

Evening ncstatecamp