IGNORED

Fuel Filter Change??

Ghostdad

I'm having problems trying to remove the fuel filter, on my 97' 1100RT. I'm hoping some one can lend some knowledge before I break something...lol

(a: how do you unplug the wire from housing? It's hard to see the plug and I don't want break the connecter by pulling too hard or trying to unhook it.

(b: once I get it unplugged what is the safest way of getting the filter out without damaging the float?

(c: then when I replace the filter what type of clamps should I use at the filter and the other 2 small lines that are in the tank?

(d: finaly at installation should I do something with the o'ring like put a little grease on it get it to stay in place or do they hold in a groove?

This is my first time servicing my Rt so I'm being a little cautious trying to take my time and get it right the first time and not cause myself more grief by screwing up...lol

TIA

Dave confused.gif

Peter_Doege

a) I can't remember how to disengage the electrics.

b) I just jiggled the assembly, removed the vent lines, and then jiggled the assembly out. It takes a bit of patience.

c) I used clamps that I bought from the local dealer. They are standard fuel injection clamps that you can get from an auto parts store.

d) There is a groove for the oring. An older oring will need to dry before you reassemble everything.

Good luck, this is not a "fun" procedure, but it is doable with patience.

Peter

a couple of things on the fuel injection clamps. tighten them up good, also you need to position them so the float switch doesn't hangup.

on the electrics, are you talking disconnecting them on the inside, why do you need to disconnect them? you should not have to.

a couple of things on the fuel injection clamps. tighten them up good, also you need to position them so the float switch doesn't hangup.

on the electrics, are you talking disconnecting them on the inside, why do you need to disconnect them? you should not have to.