IGNORED

Camhead electrics

R & R

Howdy all. Finally pulled the trigger on a new bike, well , new to me. 2012RT. Love it.

It appears to have the original bmw battery in it. Seems to be working fine but 4 years is pushing it for me. Had an odyssey in the 02 And liked it. Would be my first choice for a replacement.

Except. I'm new to the canbus electrics and a little nervous about it.

The odyssey liked a little higher charging voltage than the 02 could provide so I was in the habit of using a ctek7002 charger to keep it topped off. Especially when short commuting.

The recommended voltage for the odyssey is 14.7. However seems I read somewhere that this may be a little high for the canbus bikes. Is this an issue? The manual also warns against charging directly to the battery terminals. Is this really an Issue?

Sorry so windy for a couple simple questions!

Howdy all. Finally pulled the trigger on a new bike, well , new to me. 2012RT. Love it.

It appears to have the original bmw battery in it. Seems to be working fine but 4 years is pushing it for me. Had an odyssey in the 02 And liked it. Would be my first choice for a replacement.

Except. I'm new to the canbus electrics and a little nervous about it.

The odyssey liked a little higher charging voltage than the 02 could provide so I was in the habit of using a ctek7002 charger to keep it topped off. Especially when short commuting.

The recommended voltage for the odyssey is 14.7. However seems I read somewhere that this may be a little high for the canbus bikes. Is this an issue? The manual also warns against charging directly to the battery terminals. Is this really an Issue?

Sorry so windy for a couple simple questions!

Morning R & R

The good news is, the new hexhead/camhead 1200Rt's seem to function just great with the Odyssey battery. I have had an Odyssey in my 1200RT for a few years now & have never needed to put it on a battery charger.