IGNORED

Is this a good bike?

N8nicely

Hey All,

I'm new to BMW bikes and I have an opportunity to purchase a 2003 K1200GT with 46k miles. Its has sat for a few years and is not running, needs a new seat and the plastics are faded. The last mechanic to look at it says it needs a new starter module ($127) to start.

Is this bike worth getting and restoring from a simple investment standpoint?

One was on sale in the Bay Area a few months ago for $3000. Less than 20,000 miles and in pristine condition. I suspect you could look around and find a really good low mileage 2003 or 2004 for a decent price. BMW fixer-uppers will drain your pocket book with no garantee of having something worthwhile in the end.

As far as the model goes, mine has 82,000 miles on it with no issues. Great for long distance fast riding.

tom collins

i bought one of those low mileage beauties, a 2003 k1200rs in the summer of 2012 with 8,500 miles at the time. no service history, but looked impeccable and everything worked correctly. i just turned over 30,000 this last weekend. with one exception, it has been perfect as after all, the brick engine has a great reputation.

the exception: i think most of the miles went on the bike at the early part of its life as i believe the bike sat for a good while before it was traded. after about a year and a half, my clutch started to slip a little. i believe there was a small amount of weepage from the rear main seal that was a direct result of non-use. i also think that after getting regular use and proper lubrication, the seal essentially resealed. i have about 90% of the use of the clutch, so except under brutal acceleration, you would not even notice it. i think it is getting fractionally worse recently but will try to nurse it through this season. this is about a 1500-1800 job at the local independent euro bike shop.