IGNORED

A little electronic help (radio)

TexasMule

I installed a Jensen JHD910BT radio over the holidays, and have an issue that hopefully someone can assist with.

smugshot_2355959-XL.jpg

I've got a 19" antenna mounted to my Jesse pizza top box, and with the engine off and bike on, the radio has totally acceptable reception. Stations that I should be able to pull in, it does. I start the bike, and almost all reception disappears.

I'm no electrical engineer (I'm a CPA) so maybe someone can explain what's happening. I ran the antenna wire from the front of the bike to the rear box, and the antenna extension is very close to the alternator (if that makes a difference).

Somehow, with the engine running, the bike is emitting some serious electrical waves.

Do I need to shield the antenna wire? I'd like to pull in more than just the absolute closest radio station.

Thanks for any help.

Bill (TxMule)

Morning Bill

The alternator will definitely emit RFI so that could be part of the issue. Alternator

interference usually causes reception noise not poor reception though.

Are you sure that the antenna cable is fully plugged together & outer shielding

properly grounded? Also, never run an antenna cable along, or tight to, an engine

wire harness or near a RFI emitting component. (try to run the antenna cable in it's

own area)

If your rear antenna is mounted to a non metallic (non chassis grounded) area then you

might have to run a ground wire from the chassis to the antenna base. (BMW does this on

their front mounted antennas)

Long antenna cable runs are not the best & are prone to reception loss & picking up

radiated RFI interference.

You might buy a cheap antenna from a discount auto parts store, then plug that into the radio,

then move it around the running bike to see if some places on the bike are better or worse

than others for reception or RFI interference.

You might try calling the radio tec help line & asking for their help & ideas on what you