IGNORED

Newbie questions; first of many

Mulepick

I've been riding for 35 years but purchased my first BMW (bike)a few days ago. Used 99 R1100RT.

Is there anywhere online to get a price break on parts?

How do you pull the oil filter w/o buying (what I bet is) an expensive, thin walled, 76mm filter wrench?

What works best to get the blue off the pipes?

Thanks,

Bob

I want to paint it but change to a different BMW color. Where can I find colors w/codes?

russell_bynum
I've been riding for 35 years but purchased my first BMW (bike)a few days ago. Used 99 R1100RT.

Congrats!!

What parts? If you're talking about OEM parts, Chicago BMW offers discounts for internet orders.

How do you pull the oil filter w/o buying (what I bet is) an expensive, thin walled, 76mm filter wrench?

Just buy the wrench. I know people who spend more at friggin' Starbucks every week than I spent on my oil filter wrench.

What works best to get the blue off the pipes?

You can't see the pipes when you're riding, so who cares? thumbsup.gif

Seriously...I don't think there's anything you can do other than having them ceramic coated or something goofy like that.

I want to paint it but change to a different BMW color. Where can I find colors w/codes?

I can't help you with that one.

I bought a cheap plastic oil filter wrench at PEP Boys (or similar) for about a buck ninety-nine. I had to file it down a little to get it to fit. Since it was plastic it was easy to file. It worked. I eventually sprang for a BMW version, just because it is more pleasant to use, but the cheap one did the job. It required a 3/8" drive to turn it.

What parts? If you're talking about OEM parts, Chicago BMW offers discounts for internet orders.

They may offer that, but they have seriously sucked ass on this latest order from them. Bad communication, bad service. I'd avoid them at all costs if possible. YMMV

steve.foote