IGNORED

Thanks....

Duncan1

....for all the posts about riding safely. I am pretty new at riding and read through the posts about seating position, smoothness, panic etc. They really helped me make last weekend's trip from central MN to Jamestown ND (450 miles round trip) a successful and safe one. I hope more people read this section.

This board has helped me become a better rider as well. Lessons learned and correct practice. And remember, when all else fails, look where you want to go.

The biggest problem with motorcycling is thinking that you can ride when in reality, you can but are you doing it correctly/safely? I try every year to take a safety course just because of this mentality. In other words, we all develop patterns in our lives whether with raising kids, driving, riding, playing a sport, etc. Those patterns can start to erode and become dangerous or less effective. That is why musicians practice techniques all the time. With better technique comes better performance. I try to read this area often cause it seems to always clue me into another area where my pattern has become shoddy.

In addition to practice, there are exponential learning benefits by riding a long way with a more experienced rider. Here's a mishmash of things I was taught and/or observed by doing just that.

• How they naturally ride in/near the tire track when droning along the highway - less chance of debris there.
  • How they keep an eye on the front tire of an 18-wheeler when passing them.
  • How they keep their head up and eyes down the road, particularly in the twisties. How they watch the vanishing point of where the road meets the horizon and use the movement to know the road, and then vanish from you.
  • How they carve a beautiful line, and brake much less and a lot later than you do.
  • How they are always in gear at stops.
  • How never to rush home in the final hour of a long trip when you can't wait to get off the damn bike.