IGNORED

GPS choices

don_k

I've been using a Garmin e-map since 2001 and am looking to replace it. From what I've found so far the Garmin zumo 660LM seems to be a good option. But I figured I should ask the wonderful people on this site what they use and why (or perhaps why not something else).

Thanks in advance and safe riding to all,

Don Kramber

I don't know how wonderful I am, but I just use Navigon on my phone. The only real issue is the lack of touchscreen, which I can work around with voice commands through a Sena.

Stan Walker

Zumo 590LM for me.

The good:

1) Transflective display.

2) Large screen. Can be used in portrait or landscape orientation. Touch screen operation works with any glove.

3) Weather and Traffic are available as low cost (one time charge eash) aps on iPhone (maybe others?),

4) Linked easily with iPhone and Sena 20S.

The bad:

1) Coming from the 276C the unit is quite dumbed down. I think that's probably true of all their automotive/motorcycle units.

2) Crackling noise when placing a phone call using the double Bluetooth link. I will find out this weekend if a second unit does the same thing.

3) Lots of cables (5 of them) from the motorcycle mount to deal with. To either hook up, cut off, and/or hide somewhere. In my case I routed all the cables behind the instrument panel (required small mod to bikes plastics in a location that doesn't show). The cables then run over to the glove box on my '02 RT where they are coiled up in the bottom. The power cable is mated to power inside the glove box and the USB cable is used to supply power to the iPhone 6 laying on top of everything else in the glove box. The iPhone is always powered up and running the application that gives me weather and traffic. I have no idea if that makes a big hit on my data usage as I am grandfathered into an unlimited plan. It works fine on the power side as my iPhone is always at 100%.