IGNORED

Slow Brakes

RonB001

Hi, All

Newbie here (new to BMW and 2-cylinder motorcycles)

My new-to-me R1150RT has a really weird braking behavior. The brakes are s_l_o_w.

When I squeeze the front brake lever, I can feel the brakes slowly start to apply over a 3-5 second time lapse. Of course, by the time I back off, I am getting a lot more brake than I intended. Then, when I release the brake lever, it takes about the same amount of time (3-5 seconds) for the calipers to release braking and the bike to start rolling again. This makes slow speed corners kind of tricky.

The ABS lights sequence normally, and go out when I start rolling.

Is this something that has been seen before, and has a known cause? I looked through all 60 pages of results for "brakes", and all 20 pages of Oilhead threads, without finding anything similar.

The previous (2nd) owner rode about 2,000 miles a year. The bike has about 40,000 miles. It looks to have been ridden gently. I haven't yet done any maintenance on the bike. This was my first ride, about 25 miles just to start getting used to the bike.

Could this be a "low voltage" issue? Or, is it more likely to be a brake bleeding issue?

Regards,

RonB

A total brake and clutch bleed is just the beginning, if your lucky that's all it needs. Does it still have the rubber brake lines?

(Mine still does)

It probably does still have the original lines. The previous owners were of the "take it to the dealer" type.

It probably does still have the original lines. The previous owners were of the "take it to the dealer" type.

Several possibilities. While I agree the hoses are most likely, could also be nearly-stuck caliper piston(s) and/or a couple other things.