IGNORED

Another new wethead rider. First time BMW rider.

RichR1200RT

RichR1200RT

Hello everyone,

I'm new to BMW bikes. I just picked up a new Ebony 2015 R1200RT. I have been riding Harley's for the past 40 years so needless to say this is quite a change. I recently had some knee and hip work and a bike that is 400 pounds lighter is very nice. My bike has audio, nav, electronic suspension and a few other really cool goodies. I so far love the way it rides and handles especially 2 up. I'm still trying to figure everything out but this sure looks like a great place to get some help when needed. Have a great Memorial Day weekend everyone and ride safe.

Rich

realshelby

Welcome Rich!

You couldn't hardly find two bikes with more different "mannerisms". You will be learning about things on your new RT for quite a while. Many are covered in the owners manual but a lot will be learned while riding the bike and looking it over. It has a height adjustment for the seat and that can really help the knees on longer rides.Like every bike I have owned there are things that can upgrade its comfort. You have a whole new world to enjoy!

John in VA

Welcome Rich! You'll find this forum a great resource.

To me a motorcycle is all about the motor -- handling and features are important but in the end we're all just straddling a motor with its attributes and peculiarities. You chose another twin, and although the HD and BMW motors are very different, they still have a vibe unlike nervous triples, fours or sixes. Enjoy!

Hmm... that brings back memories of the old Audi 5000 tv ads with the lab-coated German engineer touting its 5-zylinder engine: "Four vas too small, und six vas too bulky!" That motor's gone but will we ever see a 5 on a motorcycle?

Welcome Rich,