IGNORED

Need Help Picking Shocks for a 2002 1150RT

powerman

I have put together a comparison table between, Wilber's, Ohlins and Works performance shocks see table http://www.kueglers.org/1150RTShocks.pdf. I know there are others brands of shocks but haven't researched them and probably won't due to time.

I have no other experience with any of these shocks except the research I've done developing the table and reading posts on this board. I have no experience with racing or setting up shocks, I am however a technical dude and understand the technical THEORY of shocks / springs and damping but I need your experience on the PRACTICAL aspects of these which I lack.

From my perspective:

All the front shocks are similar; all have adj preloded and adjustable rebound.

The rear is were its at. If you want to get adjustable compression damping you need to go with the Wilbers in which you get remotely mounted high and low speed compression damping. The ohlins seem to be overpriced with the value going to the works shock with the same capabilities or possible that the ohlins are that much better. Both ohlins and Works only have adjustable rebound damping in the rear. All have hydraulic rear preload as standard or an option.

I believe both Wilber and ohlins rebound adjust is on the fixed portion of the piston shaft. Works requires an Allen wrench.

Questions:

1) Is the added benefit of the adjustable hi and low speed damping worth it due to extra hassle setting them up or possibly setting them incorrectly?

2) Were does the wilbers remote reservoir mounted?

3) Do the damping settings change over time, a lot, a little, not at all? Also with respect to each other does one brand hold or loose its adjustments more or less than the other.

4) Hassles with adjustments, hard to reach adjustment etc.

5) Any difference in longevity between the brands.

Let me know if anything is incorrect so I can fix the table

Any comments or insight are appreciated.