IGNORED

Another HID light question

walton66

I installed a single HID on one of my low beams with little success, it would work fine starting in the morning but would not retire after a gas or meal break. Checked it all out couldn't find a problem so I removed it. Now the othe low beam has burnt out so I'm thinking about trying the HID route again with a different supplier. My question revolves around a post I saw on another forum relating to the current draw at startup. The post implied that the increased draw required to fire the light could damage the OEM wiring, so recommended a relay operated by the bikes circuitry and provided power to the lights. The comment was related to a K bike not an RT. Any comment? I really liked the HID when it was working.

Thanks,

Bill

I've been using HIDs for ~10 years. It is true that there is an initial strong current pulse, as the ballast must supply ~20,000V to ignite the arc in the HID bulb -- in the past on the order of 20A, today some are less than 5A. This initial pulse immediately falls as the voltage required to maintain the arc is much lower. My experience is that the initial current draw is so short that there is not a hazard to the wiring, even with BMW's use of only as large a wire as required for the circuit. Today's lower-draw ballasts makes the choice to go without a relay even easier.

HOWEVER, the camhead's bulb monitoring circuit requires that you purchase a BMW-compatible kit to "fool" the circuit monitor to avoid either a bulb warning lamp in the dash or cut-off of the headlight supply current.

Danny caddyshack Noonan

The CANBUS compliant digital ballasts will accomplish the "fool" aspect of the circuitry. They're also much less noisy.

I have used the HID Kits from: http://www.kbcarstuff.com/Motorcycle-Xenon-HID-Conversion-Kits-s/34.htm

Or Google Xenon Depot.