IGNORED

2013 Brake Bleeding problem

tpfeffer

Today I bled the front and rear brakes on my new-to-me 2013 R1200RT. I've been bleeding brakes on BMW's for many years so what happened has me baffled.

I used Valvoline Dot 3 & 4 fluid from a new, unopened can. I replaced the stock bleeder nipples with Speedbleeders front and rear so it was an easy one-man flush. At no time did the fluid levels in the reservoirs get low enough to draw in air. I found no air in the existing fluid. Prior to the flush, the rear brakes were solid. I took care to not let brake fluid run down on the brake pads. Where some brake fluid accumulated on the caliper, I sprayed with Brake Cleaner.

Here's the dilemma. Following the bleeding, the rear brake feels mushy as if air was in the system. I cannot come close to purposefully locking up the rear brake or causing the ABS to activate.

Does anyone have a suggestion?

duckbubbles

It surely sounds like you've let some air in somehow. I'd remove the speed bleeder and try the regular method, since the rear is easy that way.

You may try using a syringe and "back bleeding" to an empty reservoir. I haven't had a whole lot of luck with that.

You may try completely emptying the system and starting fresh.

Just being patient and persistent will usually fix it.

Frank

Morning Tom

How much fluid did you get through the rear? Did you put in as much as you bled out?

Just a thought-- but on the rear you did remove the rubber baffle in the fluid resiviour before adding fluid?

Otherwise it does sound like you somehow got air in the system.

You might bleed the rear again but do it without the speed bleeder & operate the rear brake pedal slowly not real fast.