IGNORED

Inexpensive battery for oilheads

roadscholar

Some of you may be familiar with this, but I stumbled onto it a while back and figured I'd pass it along. This battery is used mainly as a backup power supply for computers during a power outage. But it is identical to any oilhead battery (its sealed but not gel).

I've been using them for several years and find they last at least as long as the name brands. I picked up another one today and told the salesman I may post this message here.

He normally sells them for 49.95 but said if you mention BMW Sporttouring he'd sell it for $40.00. The only caveat is you need to drill out the hole in the pos. terminal slightly to accomodate the BMW stud. He is a nice and knowledgeable fellow and I have no connections.

Randy at Sunn Battery, 1316 W. Adams St., Jax, Fla.

(800) 226 4508

rbeckworth@sunnbattery.net

Powertron PT2012

Its available nearly anywhere but mostly through wholsale distributors and they may not sell to individuals. I've seen what appears to be identical units with well known labels for double.

Happy ohms and may your voltage be steady.

Bill F.

Speaking of less expensive batteries, seems I have read Panasonic sells an AGM battery that is less expensive than the Odyssey. Anybody know? What do most folks recommend? I don't think I want to go the gel route. Whatever is in my '01 GS is getting weak so I need to be figuring something out. Thanks for any info.

Sarah

I've looked at the specs for the odesey and panasonic and the odesey is so much better (lower series resitance, amp hours, etc). Not to say the panasonic won't work though, but these bikes are hard on the batteries so i opted for the more robust solution. i bought my odesy on ebay for like $65 delivered. At half the price of the bmw stocker i don't know how much lower in $ is worth saving.