IGNORED

Boxer Newbie!

RTster

Hello folks, Greetings from Vancouver, BC!!

I am not only new to this forum, but I am also new to both sport touring and boxer engines.

I have been riding dual sport bikes all along and either single cylinder or parallel twin engines have been my choice. After a tumble on a single track and a knee surgery later, I decided to hang up my dual sport boots and move to road touring. After much deliberation and research (and with mid-life crisis kicking in fast) I got myself a new quartz blue water boxer last week. It’s a totally different beast and a new experience altogether. I have been in a mighty hurry to get used to the bike and have clocked over 1000kms already.

One thing I am yet to get used to though is its transmission. Having ridden Japanese bikes and BMW parallel twins, I find the RT gear box clunky and rough at times despite claims that the new transmission is much smoother than the previous models. I have been trying to find that sweet spot within RPMs to affect the gear change smoothly, but it doesn’t seem to exist. I even tried using the onboard gear shift indicator, but it has not helped much either.

Am I overreacting and is this something I have to get used to?

I also found the bike’s rear end fish-tailing a bit during cross winds on highways. The first time it happened I pulled off to the shoulder thinking I had a flat tire. I have never experienced this on dual sport bikes. Is this normal on the RT or should I be worried?

Otherwise, I find the new RT a well engineered bike with amazing ergonomics and electronics.

Appreciate the feedback from you experienced folks.

Thanks

Harry

Welcome Harry! :wave:

Just got the same bike as you and I'm lovin' it. I'll save you the ba da ba ba ba part! :grin:

Snick snick shifts are for Japanese motorcycles. ;) The new RT is quite nice in the shifting department though. So maybe, a little more time and all will be good.