IGNORED

Does where you live influence who you are?

Bud

I was thinking the other day about how location influences individuals. For instance, I was born in Wisconsin but moved to Colorado after 2nd grade. Lived there till I graduated from High School.

Since that time I have lived in S. Illinois except for a year and a half when we lived near Ft. Benning, GA in the late 60's to early 70's.

I can vividly remember when it dawned on me that I was a Midwesterner. Until that time I thought I would move back to Colorado at some point.

Generalizations work not because they are true of everyone, but because they are true of many/most. So when someone hears I'm from the Midwest, they immediately have some preconceived notions about me. The same for someone from the South or California or the NE or Chicago, etc...............

OTOH, some people choose to live where they do because of who they are. They find the place where they are the most comfortable.

I, for one, could never live in FL and yet know many, many people who do and love living there. They may feel the same way about S. Illinois. :grin:

So, what do you think?

This just now from the "Hwy 12 Closed" thread in this forum.

Well Red, I think you are gonna make it. thumbsup

Funny how where we live helps define who we are.

Charter Member "High Town" Crew

Just a co inky dink?

Red

Yes, I felt fortunate to live in ca for 58 years. Now it's an embarrassment to live here.

Yes, moving within 6 months.

Took you long enough ,,It was an embarrassment back in 1986 when I moved out of there,, :dopeslap:

As an Army brat and later serving in my own hitch, living in many states and overseas, I always longed for what I percieved as the stability of living where my roots run deep. Well, not much stability but it's where I belong, to hell with high tides and bridges. :/