IGNORED

Won't start

BrianP

Hello from Scotland. I've a '96 1100rt that I've been riding for four years with little trouble. Now it won't start. Doesn't turn over.

Symptoms almost like side stand down except, switch on ignition and get the 3 second hum you'd expect to hear (don't get that if the side stand's down or kill switch is on). Press starter and starter relay clicks, so starter button ok. Ignition/Neutral lights don't dim when the button's pushed, suggesting no load from the starter. I've stripped and cleaned the starter.

I'd be grateful for any ideas.

Morning Brian

You might have a bad starter relay, or broken wire at the steering neck area, or even a low enough battery that it can't pull the starter solenoid plunger in.

First, make darn sure the trans in neutral-- then try jumping the large battery cable stud on the starter to the smaller solenoid stud on the starter.

If it then cranks over OK let us know & we can have you trouble shoot the starter circuits from the starter relay socket (left front relay in the fuse box).

If it still doesn’t crank by jumping the solenoid then look for a low battery, or starter issue, or battery cable connection issue.

Hi

And happy St Andrew's Day from a fellow Scot.

Battery? It is that time of year when they die!

I would also check the wiring around the ignition switch. I had an RS with an infuriating intermittent fault and that's what it was. Try moving the handlebars around when ignition is on and see what you get.

Thanks for that. I'll try jumping the starter as you suggest. The battery should be ok - it was new six months ago and I've tried jumping it with a car battery. The starter relay is clicking, but maybe that doesn't mean it's ok on the output side. I'll be very happy if that's all the problem is!

It's only 5.30 pm here but it's pitch dark, so maybe have to leave it til the morning.

We're everywhere!