IGNORED

Handlebar Width

Jiro

Hi! I've been riding F650GS for about 4 years now with lot of miles. I think it's time that I move up to RT so I'm hunting around for it. I test-rode it last week and I love it!!! However, I do have a couple of issues - comfort-wise.

The bike (used) I test-rode on felt crampy for me. definitely felt like the previous owner was very vertically-challenged. the pegs were too close to seat which is obviously fixable by getting a different seat. and the handlebar felt too narrow. It felt like riding a Fisher-Price toy bike. I know there's a handlebar riser but that's not what I'm looking for.

Is there a way to widen the handlebar by like perhaps 1"?

Suggest rethinking increasing handlebar width. You propose to transition from an "enduro" bike to a sport touring bike. The former typically do have wider bars and perhaps you really want an R1200GS--a wonderful bike for sure.

The RT fairing is actually designed and tested rather than just "stuck on" and coverage/protection and mirror use are matched to OE handlebar width. So are hydraulic lines and switch wire harnesses.

I checked my more-than-inch-thick Wunderlich catalog, and while there are risers there's nothing for "wider bars." I think that's a clue.

Suggest rethinking increasing handlebar width. You propose to transition from an "enduro" bike to a sport touring bike. The former typically do have wider bars and perhaps you really want an R1200GS--a wonderful bike for sure.

The RT fairing is actually designed and tested rather than just "stuck on" and coverage/protection and mirror use are matched to OE handlebar width. So are hydraulic lines and switch wire harnesses.

I checked my more-than-inch-thick Wunderlich catalog, and while there are risers there's nothing for "wider bars." I think that's a clue.