IGNORED

Throttle Cable replacement - How long

jbh

I purchased a used 1999 RT1100 about a year ago. The bike has been serviced by the dealer for its entire life so all scheduled maintenance has been done. The 30K service was done before I purchased it and now I need to do the 36K. I want to do it myself since I have the ability and the time.

Does everyone change the throttle cable every 18K as specified? ooo.gif Mine was changed at 18K. Also anything else people stretch the intervals on?

This is my first time posting but I have been lurking for about a year now. Great board with lots of info.

If I were you I would do it once for two reasons. First, so you know how to do it, and second so you can use your old cables as spares. Then I would change them every 40-50k miles.

Joe Frickin' Friday
If I were you I would do it once for two reasons. First, so you know how to do it, and second so you can use your old cables as spares. Then I would change them every 40-50k miles.

I don't keep the old ones as spares. If I have to replace a cable by the side of the road, I don't want to have to replace it again (with new) when I get home.

I keep a set of new throttle cables coiled under my seat.

What Jim said. In addition, There was a throttle cable design change at some point in the '99 model year.

Early cables had a metal cap at the distribution box end of the cable housing. Later cables eliminated the metal cap. It is my belief that the metal cap caused the high failure rate of throttle cables experienced at that time.

There have been very few (if any) complaints of broken throttle cables involving the newer type cables.

I just replaced mine for the first time on my '02 RT at 69,166 miles. No sign of any wear on the cables or the junction box. I reused the junction box and replaced all three cables.

Stan

So, has anyone actually had a cable fail yet? grin.gif

Even though ther's a grin in your question, I'll take it seriously...