IGNORED

Zumo 665 map update problem

Steve Kolenda

Steve Kolenda

I have lifetime map updates for my Zumo 665. Notified of an available update. When I try to run the update it tells me there is not enough space for all of the maps and that I need to select a region. Anybody else having this problem? There is a new interface for doing the update called Garmin Express.

Unfortunate;y this is not an unusual problem.

You 665 probably has enough space for the North America maps but it may also have an extra copy of the old map in there taking up space.

Tech Support can possibly tell you what to delete or the may do it for you via a remote access to your computer.

You might also go over to zumoforums join or logon and see what they say.

Steve Kolenda

hopz,

I have been updating the maps on this unit for a couple of years and never had this problem before. This has only been a problem since the new interface.

Morning Steve

What you have is a GOOD THING. With that darn Gamin Express IF it finds enough room on your GPS for all the mapping it WON'T install the mapping on your computer. (that is a piss poor thing on Garmin's part)

That means you will have to use Base Camp & hook your GPS to the computer to use the newest mapping.

When you hook your GPS to the computer & when using Garmin Express (& your GPS doesn't have enough room for the mapping) you should have a button appear in the lower L/H corner of one of the update screens (you might have to go in a few). That button should have the options of (Computer), (GPS), (Both)

That is a good thing so JUST click on (computer) & allow it to install the entire NA map on your computer.

Once the mapping is on your computer just use the "Map Tool" in Map Source & transfer the mapping that you want to your GPS using the send-to (button/arrow). Just be sure you only have "MAP" box ticked.

If your GPS has an SD card the entire North America should easily fit on your GPS.