IGNORED

What does it take to be as good as you can be?

doc47

But all drivers spin. It comes from pushing the limits.

from The Art of Racing In The Rain by Garth Stein

When I started riding motorcycles again, and shortly before I began participating in this Board, I kept asking myself how I could become an excellent rider. I talked with other riders. I read A Twist of the Wrist, Vol. II,which taught me a great deal. I rode, and rode, and rode. I worked at cornering, at sensing the machine, at trying to feel what the tires were doing – all geometry and friction and physics.

The one question I kept asking, and that no one could answer, was “How can you know the limits of what you can do? How can you get the ultimate out of yourself and the bike in a corner?” The second part of that question – the inescapable corollary – is “...without falling?”

The answer is, you can't. You have to be willing to commit yourself to dumping yourself and the bike. There really is no other way. You can't know the limits until you've exceeded them.

And that's the point where automobile drivers are different from motorcycle riders, and probably pilots. You can spin an automobile and still end up sitting upright, strapped in, unscathed when the vehicle comes to rest. It is inherently stable in all three dimensions. Motorcycles are only stable in one. Aircraft in none.

And the only way to find the limits of stability is to exceed the frictional tension between tire and tarmac, and that means a very good chance one is going down. In that case, when all comes to rest the motorcycle rider is not still sitting up, enclosed, strapped in. He or she is lying, limping, or walking somewhere near either a still rideable machine or a machine that's out of commission or even destroyed.

So, to be really good, the motorcycle rider has to be willing to exceed that limit; take the fall. Without it you can never be the best you can be....on a motorcycle. Pilots, of course, take an even greater risk.