IGNORED

Understanding the ABS system on the R1150RT

twelve

Hi Guys,

I am trying to understand the rear ABS behaviour on my R1150RT and hope to find some answers.

I hear of ppl locking up the rear wheels and the ABS systems springing into action. I always thought one can lock up the rear wheels only if the clutch is disengaged but if the bike is in gear, would this be possible? I mean the drive line and pistons would all stop moving and would there be engine stalling and damage resulting?

I hope someone can explain what actually happens or can happen assuming if travelling at 50 km/h on a slippery surface, I step on the rear pedal hard hard enough to lock the rear wheel, what will the ABS be doing?

It is easier to understand for the front wheel as there is no drive and the wheel is spinning independently.

I am not technically inclined so explanation in layman terms much appreciated.

Thanks Guys.

Tay

----

I hope someone can explain what actually happens or can happen assuming if travelling at 50 km/h on a slippery surface, I step on the rear pedal hard hard enough to lock the rear wheel, what will the ABS be doing?

Morning Tay

The 1150RT has the I-ABS (wizzy) ABS system.

That ABS system monitors the front to rear wheel slip rate difference & adjusts the braking front/rear bias based on that. This is assuming you only use the front brake lever to stop.

On your question above: Seeing as the ABS system is monitoring both the front & rear wheel speed & their decel rate, if you step on the REAR brake (only) & hard enough to lock the rear brake the ABS will intervene & release the rear brake pressure to the point of the rear wheel not locking up due to the BRAKES. That includes trying to include the engine & drive train drag.