IGNORED

HELP!! I've farged up my T/B synch!

redryder

Well, since the battery was dead and I had to take the tank off to get it out and give it a good charging, I decided that it was time for the 36K service with an annual thrown in. I even went for broke and did the brake fluid change/bleed myself and it went swimmingly well...I really don't see what all the fuss and mystery is about. I'm not a master mechanic by any means, but I have maintained my own stuff for many years. I just followed the factory manual and a LOT of advice gleaned from this web site and all went well......except when I went to start the bike when it was cold.

I bought a TwinMax and armed with a ream of paper printed with articles from the archives here, I set to work synching the T/Bs. I started out checking the TPS for proper adjustment, and I didn't change anything because it was all well within parameters. So next I fired the bike up and sure enough it was running rough because I had moved the BBS and mechanical throttle stops down. But in a few minutes we were at operating temperature and within just a matter of minutes, I had the T/Bs in tune with themselves and mother nature and the RT was running as good, or better than ever.

UNTIL.... I went back later, after assembling the Tupperware I thought I'd go for a quick spin and try her out. That's when I discovered that the bike wouldn't start. If I hold the throttle open a bit, it will start, but won't idle. When I pull the (choke)(enrichener) (fast idle lever) (faux choke) [take your choice of descriptors] nothing happens at all. No change to idle speed whatsoever. If I hold the throttle open and let the bike get back warm, it will eventually idle.