IGNORED

Passed unexpectedly in lane by another bike

New2Wheeler

New2Wheeler

So I'm kind of new to riding, but was surprised by another bike today. Was heading down the interstate at the speed limit (70 mph) when I noticed another rider right behind me. I was riding in the inside third of the right-hand lane, and moved to the right to see the other rider. He must have thought I was giving him room to pass (since there was another vehicle in the inside lane to the left. I have to admit I was very surprised to be passed in my lane..... Did I somehow signal to this guy to pass? I don't have experience riding in groups, so I'm wondering if by shifting my lane position I was giving him the go to pass? I never like to be surprised when riding as I feel it is my responsibility to anticipate others.... this riders action was a surprise to me! Should I have been surprised?

Now you know how those cages feel when they get lane-split. But seriously, I don't think you gave him a signal. I think he just was faster and saw the opening get wider. He would have passed you anyway.

when i was less experienced, i did the same thing once. And i was the bike that did the passing. Now that i am older and slower, i would never do that. Just too little room for error.

YMMV

Sometimes that nearly happens to me, but usually I know what is behind me.

And if it's a bike and moving fast I always take half the lane so if they need the room, they have it.

Here a lot of the cars also move to the side to allow a bike to pass.

Some try to block, but that's rare. About one tries to block for every 100 or more that take to the side of their lane.

A number of the big pick up trucks will reach out and pull in their rear view mirror to make it easier to pass.

Or, they just don't want it broke off.

dc

ShovelStrokeEd