IGNORED

Cut The Cord and Have Gone Wireless (Bluetooth)

marcopolo

Add me to the list of those who have moved to wireless bluetooth intercoms. I have been using an Autocom since 2007 and it has worked as advertised. But given that both my wife and I are buying new helmets (both Shoei Qwests), I thought it was time we gave Bluetooth a whirl (I didn't particularly feel like moving the headsets to the new lids and my wife wanted to ditch the wires). After reading reviews and posts here, there and everywhere, I settled on the Sena SMH10. It's WebBikeWorld's favourite at the moment and it's also the only one (that I could find at least) which has a headset available (as an accessory) which will easily allow me to plug in my Arizona Al in-ear monitors. I ordered the Sena from RocketMoto.com, which seems to be the favourite source for the gang over at AdvRider.com. Given we're still in the middle of winter, I really won't be able to give it a true test for a while, but look forward to doing so. Even though the Sena has been out for less than a year, a "dual pack", which was selling not that long ago for $399, can now be had for $239. That's not that big of an investment if it doesn't work out. I also like the fact that it comes with a cord which allows you to plug it in and charge it on the bike while still using it. Normally, I'd charge it through an AC outlet at home, or in a motel, but it's nice to have the option. This reminds me that I will miss the bike-powered Autocom (not that I'm removing it from my RT), but what's one more thing to recharge in the motel room?

I have been contemplating this as well. I had my first experience pairing the iPhone to a rental car bluetooth system recently (none of my cars are that new) and was surprised how easy it was to configure and use, at least on a Toyota vehicle system.