IGNORED

Help an old guy's off road riding techniques

MLTDWN

I am a 60 year old newbie to off road riding. I began riding later in life - now its been about 22 years, around 100,000 miles, and virtually all of it on pavement. Always had touring bikes (for the last 10 years, RTs) and when I got on gravel, etc., I felt very uncomfortable. I know there are plenty of experienced riders out there who do feel comfortable off road on an RT or whatever, but I am not one of them and living in an urban environment, just never had many opportunities to practice.

Did an organized tour last year for a couple of weeks and was off road for about 20% of the time. Definitely the most off road I had ever done. I did just fine on hard dirt and rocks, but not so good in the mud. We never encountered sand or very much water.

Just bought a F650GS on a bit of a whim and traded my older RT so

I could enjoy some off road riding in southern Arizona where I am now trying to spend some time. My first experiences this past week were a mixed bag. Dirt roads, rocks, hard packed gravel not too much of a problem; sandy stretches and a lot of loose gravel were tough. I did lose it once in some sand but I think I was probably going too slow and tried to stop and dropped the bike on its side in the process. No injuries to the bike or me (just a little wounded pride) and I was happy to see I could lift it up without too much of a problem. Also, I forgot to take the ABS brakes off that time but Im not sure if it would have made that much of a difference.

I'm not very good at giving up on anything, and the bike is really fun to ride, so a couple of questions for you experienced off road riders (sorry if these sound dumb):