IGNORED

Satellite radio

Lawman

I'm interested in installing a satellite radio on a motorcycle that has no radio or speakers at this time..I have no experience with satellite radio or how it works..What is involved in installing on a motorcycle..I assume I would need an amp in addition to speakers and radio but where and how would the radio mount? Is it waterproof? Can it be easily removed? What radio is good for motorcycles?.. What is the cost? Does it work well or should I forget it? thx...

If your bike has a glove box (my 05 rt has one) you can install the radio inside it.

most radio`s have internal amps. all you need to buy is an XM ready radio (mine is a panasonic) an interface module and ant. module (comes with ant.) wire it to a power source and add speakers, your in. Oh yeah you`ll need to pay the XM radio bill to get a signal. need more help? just ask. thumbsup.gif

I have a Garmin 376C and the XM radio rception is outstanding. The unit also does NEXRAD weather, driving directions, all sorts of stuff. Pretty nice. Weatherproof. Bit pricey, though.

A couple of ways to do it;

1.) use the satellite receiver as the "front-end" to a standard AM/FM/Cassette or CD w. speakers configuration (wireless or cassette adaptor)

2.) satellite radio only with a means of piping tunes into your helmet. (Autocom, etc...)

Option 1 if you want the ability to listen to standard radio or cassette/CD...or if you want tunes if/when you ever ride lid-less

Option 2 if you always wear skid-lid, want intercom feature when riding 2-up, and if you don't care about listening to local radio.

Once you've picked one of those options....then the fun of how to mount, etc...begins

I use option 2....XM Roady 2 w. Autocom Active 7 Smart.