IGNORED

Do you actually "push" on the OUTSIDE grip prior to entering your turn?

FLrider

I very familiar with counter steering theory and, like you, make effective use of pushing on the inside grip to make the bike turn in the direction you want it to go.

However, I took the Lee Parks course Saturday and they teach pushing on the outside grip prior to entering the turn while simultaneously pre positioning your body in advance of entering the turn point. (Hanging at least one butt cheek over the inside line)

I may already be doing this subconsciously or maybe I don't understand the concept.

Pushing on the outside grip prior to turn reminds me of cage drivers who, in prep for a right hand turn, will turn their steering wheel left first, and then turn the wheel sharply right.

You can always spot them as they look like they are about to do a lane change, just before the turn.

I've been riding for many, many years. Never been down. (Knock on Wood). But it seems the more edumacation I get, the dumber I feel. :eek:

Am I missing something?

I'm going through this in my mind's eye, and don't think I do that, but I'll check and also try it out on my next ride. It's so true that you're never too old or too experienced to learn something new. Do you find that it helps?

When I took the Keith Code's California Superbike School classes I learned something that really helped me regarding "pushing on the grip" during a turn. You might want to try this out as well.

Keeping to the OP, speaking strictly of hand movement effects(ignoring body position), many of us, myself included at that time, get the bike to lean into a turn by pushing the inside grip forward AND DOWN into the turn. Kind of like trying to push the bike down with our grip into the lean. My instructor pointed out that the sole reason for pushing the inside grip is to get the wheel turned which then helps lean the bike, your downward push is doing little if anything.