IGNORED

Hitting Neutral Instead of Second

otis

Sometimes if I'm on the throttle hard and shift to second (6500 or so), it goes to neutral instead. I'm new to BMW and finally figured out the quick shifts (smmothly), but this is annoying. Do you guys run into this?

Either I'm not shifting hard enough or.....I hate to say; could this be an indication of the spline failing? Sometimes all the info on the net is bad (read about splines)....LOL Thanks....Pat

ShovelStrokeEd

In point of fact, the problem is not in your foot but rather in your throttle hand. There is no need whatsover to use force while shifting. What you must do is to not back off the throttle so much between shifts. The sequence goes like this.

On the gas and revs building.

As you approach your desired shift point, place a light upward load on the lever.

When you reach your shift point, lightly pull on the clutch lever and only back off the gas a few degrees. No need to pull the lever to the grip either, 1/2 way will do.

Release the clutch lever.

If done right, the shift will be smooth and your throttle position should be such that you are lightly accelerating in the next higher gear.

The Getrag transmission is designed such that the internal gears come to a very rapid stop when the clutch is pulled in to prevent clunk when stopped going from neutral to first. The result, when your moving, is that it becomes difficult to match the various gear speeds to allow mesh of the shift dogs if the shift is not made in a brisk manner with RPM's roughly correct.

This technique works for all oil head transmissions, 5 or 6 speed, M-94, M-97. For that matter it's a valid technique for any motorcycle transmission.

Clive Liddell

Pat,

Not sure of what model you're on but all BMW's are fairly high torque at reasonable RPM. On Oilheads I have not found much advantage in revving above torque peak (~5500) before changing. Normally it's between 4 and 5000 before changing for me - YMMV however...