IGNORED

I Found My Boots--Chippewa Rallies

RockBottom

Since I started riding about two and half years ago, I've become a shameless gear whore. My glove collection is now in double digits and I have nearly that many jackets. My boot quest has been particularly vexing as I kept searching for the perfect all-around one for my needs.

I have everything from a pair of Harley ones (bad mistake, but the first thing I bought), some Carolina engineer boots, a couple of pairs of Xelements, and a range of European ones--BMW, TCX, and Gaerne.

I eventually realized that I did not like anything waterproof. I'm very sensitive to heat build up and I find all waterproof ones hot. I don't ride in rain that much and am satisfied to just pull on boot covers when I do. I did not want ones made in China, focusing on Italian and American ones. I didn't want sport style, but something relatively conservative in styling.

I finally honed in on Aerostich Combat Lites and Chippewa Rallies. I know the 'stiches are great but since I could get the Rallies for more than $100 less, I went that way.

They arrived today and I think I finally hit paydirt. They are comfortable (although a bit stiff at this point). They are plain, lined leather with shifter pads. They are made in the U.S. They can be re-soled. They come in multiple widths and half sizes. And I like the look. I know they are usually associated with cruiser riders, but the style will go just fine with a BMW. My only concern is with the longevity of the velcro closure.

All in all, I heartily recommend giving these a serious look even though they aren't normally something that BMW folks consider.

I have the Chippewa boots and like them very much. They are my favorite Sunday ride boots if rain is not in the forecast. For traveling it better be waterproof.