IGNORED

FD boot seep?

capjim

Just noticed a bit of oil at the FD boot connections on the 2002 1150RT, i.e. both ends. The boot is fastened with cable ties. The boot does not appear to be broken or cracked and the leak seems like more of a slow seep and it looks like its been there for awhile. Is this a relatively normal thing?

(I'm no expert, other's advice may override mine)

Hi Jim,

My parents live in CC.

I just had my RT in the shop and they noticed that seeping. They said to keep an eye on it and next time I had $400 to burn they would pull the FD off and replace the boot. Their feeling was that I'd be OK for a few months so long as I keep an eye on it.

Next time they have a winter sale on service, mine's going in for tires and that, and a couple other things.

Maybe you can save yourselves a few dollars here, I asked the same question some trime ago and was told that they all do that.

However I was advised to pull back the boot and to check that it wasn't coming down the inside of the swing arm from the gearbox rear seal.

Then to clean out the few drops of oil I would find inside the boot and to keep an eye in the progress of the "leak" ....... as it could be repaired by replacement of the rear drive input seal but was unlikely to stay leak free for long and that the best option was to monitor oil usage.

So far the "loss" has been unnoticeable in the last two oil changes.

Maybe you can save yourselves a few dollars here, I asked the same question some trime ago and was told that they all do that.

However I was advised to pull back the boot and to check that it wasn't coming down the inside of the swing arm from the gearbox rear seal.

Then to clean out the few drops of oil I would find inside the boot and to keep an eye in the progress of the "leak" ....... as it could be repaired by replacement of the rear drive input seal but was unlikely to stay leak free for long and that the best option was to monitor oil usage.