IGNORED

Bluetooth Helmets

marked23

I'm hoping to find a great helmet that has built-ins for bluetooth communication.

I want to:

• Communicate bike-to-bike with my wife.
  • Listen to Bluetooth MP3 player
  • Hear GPS (rarely)
  • Listen for phone ringing (but not answering)

So I tried Google, searching for "bluetooth helmet" and I keep finding various non-premium helmet brands that sell either bluetooth-ready or fully installed bluetooth setups. These helmets are in the $250 - $350 price range. The strange part is that I'm not seeing similar offerings from the premium helmet brands, Like Arai or Shoei.

Am I just not looking hard enough?

Does it matter? Is there evidence to show that premium helmets are more safety-effective?

I don't mind my HJC; it works well. But I just figured that if I'm going to pick another helmet for bluetooth. I might as well get better protection while I'm making a purchase.

Oh, one more thing. I'm a tech worker, and I've tried out a few bluetooth toys for non-motorcycle related things. I've always been disappointed. Is this going to be the same kind of frustration with the helmet idea, or is this stuff reasonably reliable?

Take a look at the Nolan helmets. They are all designed to accept their Bluetooth hardware and are excellent quality, Italian made, medium-priced helmets.

I'm currently using a Nolan N43 "AIR" and it's my favorite helmet to date.

Why not just buy a bluetooth intercom and use your existing helmet or purchase a helmet you like and add the bluetooth intercom?

Sens SMH-10 gets top reviews. Also, a buddy of mine has a pair of the SMH-10's and loves them.

PS: you can purchase an alternate mounting option that supports in-ear speakers.

I've been using a Nolan n102 for about three years now.

When I'm on my RT at freeway speed, people can't believe I'm talking to them while riding a bike.

The disappointment was that it does not support stereo bluetooth