IGNORED

If even I don't see you......

Francois_Dumas

Francois_Dumas

This happened just now and I thought it might make some of us reflect for an extra moment. Either riding or driving!

Not meaning to say I am mr. Eagle Eyes. But I am an extremely conscious driver AND motorcycle rider. I know what happens around me all of the time. I pay attention and look and think ahead and behind. I don't use my cell phone, don't text, have no DVD monitor playing the latest Youtube videos and don't even have a radio on when driving.

And most of all, I wouldn't want anyone to come into MY space when riding the bike, so I am double conscious where it concerns other riders, especially when in the cage.

And yet.....

Here I am in my Dad's little Peugeot, on Amsterdam's busy ring road, in the rain with everything glistening and the rearview mirrors not entirely 100% clear. There's a 100km/hr limit on this stretch and almost all traffic is within 5 km of that limit... there are many cameras after all. Majority is driving on the rightmost of three lanes, as is normal here. (little rant: The left most lane is mostly used by the occasional old Golf GTI, driven by a basbebal cap looking THROUGH the wheel - doors ajar by the sheer volume of the getto blasters inside. /rant: )

Then there's this car ahead of me that keeps changing his speed.... 105....90....100...95....110....80..... probably on the phone.

So when it drops back to 90 once again, I decide to pass it.

Now, the inside and outside rearview mirrors are pretty small on these tiny French cars, and they reveal not much more than LOTS of lights of the traffic behind. Doubled because of the reflexions on the wet surface. So making any sidewards moves means looking, looking again, and looking once more, just to be safe.